Lindiwe Meyiwa

Interview conducted in June 2018

I am Lindiwe Meyiwa. I am 41 years old. I was born and grew up IN Zakheni in Ladysmith.

I am a Zulu woman who lives with my mother, 2 sisters, and 3 children. My mother did sewing when she was younger but she is a pensioner now. My 24-year-old studies at a FET college since 2015 and he is studying electrical engineering. My 21-year-old also studies. He is studying business. My last child is 5 years old. My husband is a driver but he stays in Durban.

I went to up to grade 11 at school but had to leave and go to work. I worked at a factory called Ludisa as a machinist for 7 years. I am now working at TCI for the past 4 years. I sew the garments and check the quality.

 

Screen Shot 2018-07-19 at 11.18.42 AM.png

I earn a weekly wage of R902 before deductions and R800 after deductions. I spend my wages on rent which is R150 and transport which accumulates to R120 per week (for everyone). I also spend about R350 on food. I usually buy things such as veggies and mealie meal. Only sometimes do I buy clothes.

My mother is a pensioner so she gets a grant. I also get a grant for one of my children.

I like my job and being able to support my mother, sisters, and children. But, it is hard to work early sometimes. We start work at 7 and work till 17:15. It takes me about 45 minutes to travel to work.

My dream is to be a supervisor so that I am able to support and provide for my family more.

 

 

Interviewed by Lisa Petersen, Lily Koning and Sheridan Wilbur in June 2018